Easiest and Hardest Instruments

Home Ear Training Forums Ear Training Instruments Easiest and Hardest Instruments

This topic contains 17 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of bsamples bsamples 9 years ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of snake
    snake
    Participant

I’d really like to play an instrument at a high level, but I’m wondering which are the easiest and hardest to pick up.
    Do you think I should choose what is easiest? Or maybe choose what I want to play the most, despite how hard it may be?
    Piano and violin interest me the most, I just need to find clear instructions on where and how to start.

Advice would be great.

Profile photo of britanica
    britanica
    Participant

I would say piano seems to be the easiest but I am a noob to this as well. I am sure you will find great advice on here though :)

Profile photo of snake
    snake
    Participant

That’s what I’m thinking, violin requires extremely precise arm work.. I don’t think I’d do so well.

britanica
    Participant

I am going to eventually try it with the violin though I think it is going to be hard, it is worth a try. It can’t hurt :)

Profile photo of dayzd
    dayzd
    Participant

Does singing count as an instrument? lol!

I always found singing comes naturally but piano I have to work at (I don’t always work at it but I try)

Profile photo of dayzd
    dayzd
    Participant

@snake: I tried some other instruments at school and what I liked about piano was how all the notes are layed out for you. You can see which notes are higher and lower. On a violin or guitar the different strings make it more complicated to understand (and don’t get me started on wind instrument fingerings!!!)

Profile photo of caylalayman
    caylalayman
    Participant

Does singing count as an instrument? lol!