How to practice recognizing chord progressions?

Home Ear Training Forums Ear Training Planning and Practice How to practice recognizing chord progressions?

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of caylalayman caylalayman 9 years ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of blanche_minim-2
    blanche_minim-2
    Participant

I studied in a college where every musician plays by ear. The bass player, keyboard player, etc. has a good grasp of which chord comes next. I also go to a church where every musician plays by ear. The bass player, keyboard player, and the guitar player knows which chord to play next when the vocalist is singing. Now I am in University, the professors and the student have a good grasp of which chord comes next.

When I was done in the college, I didn’t learn to recognize chord progressions. I use software programs to help me with chord progressions, but it’s far from real music because the sound is artificial in a software program.

My pastor in the church who is a guitar and keyboard player advised me to repeatedly play chord progressions of popular songs and Christian songs on my instrument, but I don’t think this is helping. I go to church barely recognizing the chord progressions.

The bass guitar player in our church told me to rely on the feeling of the music. Which note/chord sounds right in a song and it will fit.

My experience practicing chord progressions is that I don’t know the sound of a chord (for example a subdominant chord) very well.

I like the advise of the bass guitar player, but if there’s some advice on Easy Ear Training that will be great.

I need advice on how to practice chord progressions. I believe this skill is attainable. I just need to start somewhere.

Thanks for the help.

Profile photo of caylalayman
    caylalayman
    Participant