Is it harder to learn with music sheets in front of you?

Home Ear Training Forums Ear Training Planning and Practice Is it harder to learn with music sheets in front of you?

This topic contains 11 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of alexx alexx 9 years ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of britanica
    britanica
    Participant

Aside from some basic things I learned in school as a kid, I know very little about reading sheet music. I heard that it is harder to start from reading sheets than it is to just play without them in the begining. I am not even sure if I am saying this properly. lol I for one find music sheets hard to look at and understand. I am a noob when it comes to that. I know in order to make a song you would have to know how to write it but it seems so difficult.

Profile photo of chaulky
    chaulky
    Participant

Dont give up you need to keep trying. There is a good thread about fake books http://www.easyeartraining.com/forums/topic/learn-to-fake-it/ this could be a good place to try and master one part and then move onto the whole package?

britanica
    Participant

I was reading through that page. The few things I read or watched online seem to point in the direction of using proper hold, finger placement, ect. and playing a simple song by hearing alone. Then after that, start with sheet music. I am not sure if that is truthfully easier or not.

Profile photo of larsguitar
    larsguitar
    Participant

Reading sheet music take a lot of time to do it fast. I believe that only with plenty of dedication you can get it good at it so don’t give up.

Profile photo of caylalayman
    caylalayman
    Participant

I’m actually the opposite. When I was learning piano 10 years ago, I could only play using sheet music. I had a hard time playing “by ear”. I wish I had something similar to Easy Ear Training back then, because I had to learn to listen to music the hard way.